The Optical Center is a locally owned independent optical store. We serve our customers by providing quality eyewear and related products and services in a comfortable and relaxed atmosphere.
The Optical Center has been a part of the Burlington Community since it was established by Herbert and June Davis in 1952. It has been at its present location since the early 1970’s.
The building, which houses The Optical Center, holds the honored distinction of being one of the oldest intact structures on Church Street. An O.B. Mclintock street clock, an iconic Church Street landmark, still hangs in front of the building as it has for over seventy-five years. The interior of the store maintains its quaint charm with original detailed woodwork, cabinetry, and beautiful tin ceilings. The perfect backdrop for an optical store!
The Optical Center though the years
1952: Burlington Optical and Hearing Center – established by Herb and June Davis. Located in the Strong Theater building formerly located at Main and So. Winooski Ave.
1962: Moved from its original Main St. location to 106 Church Street.
1970: Moved to present location 107 Church Street. Known as Optical Center
1975: Gary King graduates from The Opticians School of Framingham and begins employment as a licensed optician at the Optical Center.
1977: Optical Center celebrates 25 years in business.
1979: Herb and June Davis retire. Gary King and James Dilloway buy Optical Center.
The store is now known as The Optical Center.
1989: Gary and Cynthia King buy out their business partners and begin sole ownership of The Optical Center.
1995: Current employee Melanny Baker joins The Optical Center.
2000: Melanny Baker completes her apprenticeship and becomes ABO certified and a Vermont Licensed Optician and Nathan Mitchell joins The Optical Center.
2002: The Optical Center celebrates 50 years in business!
2003: Nathan Mitchell completes his apprenticeship and becomes ABO certified and a Vermont Licensed Optician.
2012: The Optical Center celebrates 60 years in business!